Skip to main content



Committees > Steering Committee Members | Executive Committee Members | Research Area Committees  | 
Coordinated Project Committees | Current USWBSI Policies and Procedures




Steering Committee (SC)


The Steering Committee (SC) exists to ensure comprehensive input from all stakeholders in the scab issue.  It seeks to forge consensus strategies for the the scientific, organizational, and budgetary aspects of the war on scab. To view minutes from previous open steering committee meetings, please click on one of the links below:

Steering Committee (SC) Members - Updated: 11/02/22

Minutes from Open Meetings




Executive Committee (EC) Members

Updated: 1/06/21  (Go to EC's/HQ Home Page)


Rich Horsley, North Dakota State University

Spring Wheat:
Co-Chair - Ruth Dill-Macky, University of Minnesota
Gary Muehlbauer, University of Minnesota

Winter Wheat:
Esten Mason, Colorado State University
Carl Bradley, University of Kentucky

Durum Wheat:
Shaobin Zhong, North Dakota State University

Private Grower:
Co-Chair - Richard Magnusson (Grower, Minnesota)

Malting Industry:
Scott Heisel, American Malting Barley Association

Milling Industry:
Carl Schwinke, Siemer Milling Co., IL

USDA-ARS-NPS Designated Agency Official to the USWBSI:
Tim Widmer, USDA-ARS-NPS, Beltsville, MD


Research Area Committees (RAC) Chairs

Updated: 1/5/22

FHB Management (MGMT) - Go to MGMT's Home Page
Chair, Kaitlyn Bissonnette, Cotton, Inc., Cary, NC
Food Safety and Toxicology (FST) - Go to FST's Home Page
Chair, Dave Kendra, Cibus, San Diego, CA
Gene Discovery and Engineering Resistance (GDER) - Go to GDER's Home Page
Chair, Jyoti Shah, University of North Texas, Denton, TX
Pathogen Biology and Genetics (PBG) - Go to PBG's Home Page
Chair, Martha Vaughan, USDA-ARS, Peroria, IL


Coordinated Project (CP) Committee Chairs

Updated: 1/5/22

Commodity-Based CPs


Variety Development and Host Resistance (VDHR) - Regional Uniform Nurseries